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CHAPTER 3
FAILURE OF EMPLOYER TO COMPLY
Section 1. Delinquency — Case Liability.

(a) Employers will be charged for all injury case costs if the employers' account is in non-
compliance in the following circumstances:

(1) Delinquent During the Reporting Period the Injury Occurred. Employers
whose accounts are in a delinquent status for the reporting period during which an injury
occurred will be charged case costs for the life of any such injury.

(11) Injured Worker not Reported. Employers who omit the name of any
injured worker on the Division's report form corresponding to the month of injury and fail to pay
premium on that injured worker's earnings will be charged case costs for the life of any such

injury.

(i)  No Account on Date of Injury. Employers who fail to establish an
account, or fail to reactivate an inactive account on any date of injury will be charged case costs
for the life of any such injury.

(b) Employers shall be deemed delinquent if premiums remain unpaid more than 30
days following the due date.

Section 2. Civil Liability.

(a) When a payroll report or payment of premium is past due, pursuant to Wyoming
Statutes § 27-14-202(a), the Division shall send to the employer a notice that the report and/or
premium is past due and that the employer's account will become delinquent if the required
report and payment are not postmarked within 30 days of the date due. When an employer's
account becomes delinquent, the Division shall send to the employer a notice of delinquency.

(b) For purposes of all penalties and rights of action under the Act, an employer shall
be considered delinquent if a payroll report or any payment required by the Act is not
postmarked within 30 days of the due date.

(c) Applying Payments. When an employer makes a payment to the Division, the
Division shall apply it to the oldest premium or interest owed by the employer unless the
employer has specified in writing that the payment should be applied to a particular portion of
the employer's debt. However, bankruptcy laws or reorganization plans take priority over the
employer's written specification.

Section 3. Cancellation of Optional Coverage. Coverage for an employer with
optional coverage will be terminated if the account remains delinquent 30 days following
notification by certified mail to the employer that the employer has been delinquent in reporting
of payment of premium for one calendar quarter. The employer remains liable for the unpaid
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premium and case cost reimbursement, as applicable, through the date of termination. Following
termination under this section, the employer shall not be eligible for reinstatement of optional
coverage for a period of six months.

Section 4. Notice to Administrator. Employees of the Division who identify a possible
violation by any party shall immediately notify the Administrator of the Workers” Compensation
Division in writing.

Section 5. Waiver and Settlement - Tax. Upon good and sufficient cause, the
Administrator of the Workers’ Compensation Division may waive, compromise or otherwise
settle any amount owed to the Division by an employer.

Section 6. Out of State Employers — Experience Modification Rating. If an employer
who meets the criteria under Wyoming Statutes § 27-14-207(h) refuses or fails to provide the
Division with the experience history from their insurance company, that employer will be
assigned the maximum experience modification rating (EMR) of 1.85.
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